When using GPP’s to map drives, some of you will notice that some drives are not correctly mapped on the clients. Some users will receive other network mappings (they “sort of” never heard of before) and some network connections are there, but will not be re-attached (device name is already in use).
It looks like the GPP mode update ONLY updates if the drive mapping is created with a GPP and if the drivemapping is not retrieved from the user’s profile. In most cases, update will do the trick, however it is better to switch to Replace mode for drivemappings. This mode will remove the previous drivemapping (for that drive letter) and connect it. This way, old drive connections in the user’s profile will be removed and replaced with your GPP setting.